Skip to content

The grass is always greener.

March 4, 2010

I went on a date recently and inevitably got too drunk and starting talking a lot of rubbish. I mean, I talk enough rubbish when I’m sober, but give me a few glasses of vino and I could be the Prime Minister. I made so many date faux-pas that it was almost like a much more concise version of that movie ‘How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days’. How to lose a guy in 2 hours. Haha.

One of the many mistakes I made was talking about ex-boyfriends. One particular story was in reference to what a flighty person I am: how my interests wane with the seasons and how I regularly lose affection for careers, hobbies and perhaps most importantly, men. I told him about how my ex-boyfriend used to tell me that I suffer from “the grass is always greener” syndrome: that I perpetually feel that my life would be better if I had a different job, more money, better friends or even a new pair of shoes. Now I don’t see what’s wrong with that, but people have been telling me for years that I’ll never be happy until I learn to….wait for it….settle. Who wants to settle?? Since when is it a crime to want the best??

Anyway, today’s post was inspired by my ‘grass is always greener’ syndrome, so today I give you Growing Jewelry. Created by an Icelandic product designer called Hafsteinn Juliusson, these amazing rings feature real live Icelandic moss. Amaaaazing. They’ll even last 6-8 months if you water it every 5 weeks. And keep it in the fridge.

Moss ring

Moss ring from Growing Jewelry

At £199, I can’t quite justify buying this scrumptious piece of organic beauty. But my life would be so much better if I could…

Leave a comment